What’s in a name?

Image

What’s in a name?

The answer to that question right now, for me, is … a lot.

I started to follow the online instructions on the Thompson Rivers University website to apply to graduate but when the screen popped up to review the information, I cancelled the process.

I stopped not because I’m not looking forward to wearing the cap and gown but because something was missing.

My name was shown as Marvin Ross Beatty; close, but not quite.

Ross is my father’s name and one I am proud to share with him, but my full name is Marvin Ross Edward Beatty, which also includes my grandfather’s name, neatly tying together three generations.

When I walk across the stage, I know that Frederick Edward Beatty — along with many others — helped get me there. Don’t worry, Mom and Dad…you still have top billing, but your parents also played pivotal roles in my upbringing.

So, I sent a copy of my driver’s licence off to the Admission Office and will wait patiently until the addition is made. I owe it to my family, all of them, to honour them this way.

(Really, my name should be Marvin Ross Edward Betty Ann Helen Edith Bert Sheri Beatty but that’s a bit much to squeeze onto the degree.)

I look forward to reuniting with my classmates in Kamloops in June. I know it will be a sunny day, full of smiles and laughter.

About Admin

Clients and places where I’ve had photos and writing published include: The Tyee, BC Outdoors Magazine, Currents Magazine, Kamloops Daily News, Kamloops This Week, Smithers Interior News, Okanagan Vacation Guide, Hummingbird Beach Resort, U.S. Horsetrainer.com, Castlegar News, West Kootenay Advertiser and the Pacific Salmon Foundation. I did have a portfolio on iStockphoto.com, a subsidiary of Getty Images and had over 1000 downloads when I decided to go a different direction in selling images. You can find me now at: http://www.viewbug.com/member/MarvBeatty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

