A sighting at 37,000 feet

No. 5 in a series of short things I wrote in J-school

She laughed the same way she did when I said I was going to surprise her with dinner or make plans to spend the day with her on a weekend; a mocking, half-snort of derision that made me instantly aware she didn’t believe a single word of my observation: “There’s something in the sky out there,” but it was nonetheless a fact; there was a large, black line on the horizon and it was getting longer, wider and seemed to be making its way toward our plane and it didn’t matter that my significant other thought I was joking or that at first the flight attendant didn’t see it either, it was there, it was big and as the flight attendant leaned across laps and laptops — moving from oval-shaped window to oval-shaped window — looking past the wing and straining her eyes against the bright, blue sky, she excitedly let fly with something I’m sure startled many travel-weary souls who were half-napping their way through another boring B movie or cellophane-wrapped offering: “There it is!”, which of course, caused all eight rows of Scotland-bound passengers (who were not already aware of what the few of us were doing with our noses pressed to the windows) to swivel in their seats simultaneously to see if they could perhaps get in on the excitement of what was turning out to be a mass UFO sighting at 37,000 feet.

Yes, that’s one sentence. As I said, we were doing modelling exercise to limber up our writing brains.

Anyway, our UFO turned out to be a meteor burning up in the atmosphere… running roughly parallel to our flight path. I’ve now seen three daytime meteors; one in Victoria over the Strait of Georgia from the Save-On Foods parking lot (Blanshard Street) and another in Chase at approx. 4:40 pm February 9, 2009 which was probably the most spectacular. It was too high to be heard but witnesses in Prince George reported hearing a boom. It was extremely bright green, white and orange and moving east to west faster than anything I’ve ever seen in the sky.

I won’t discuss in detail my other two UFO sightings. They were… weird. And still freak me out to this day.

Tomorrow: He’ll be okay

About Admin

Clients and places where I’ve had photos and writing published include: The Tyee, BC Outdoors Magazine, Currents Magazine, Kamloops Daily News, Kamloops This Week, Smithers Interior News, Okanagan Vacation Guide, Hummingbird Beach Resort, U.S. Horsetrainer.com, Castlegar News, West Kootenay Advertiser and the Pacific Salmon Foundation. I did have a portfolio on iStockphoto.com, a subsidiary of Getty Images and had over 1000 downloads when I decided to go a different direction in selling images. You can find me now at: http://www.viewbug.com/member/MarvBeatty
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

