The Internal Sea

An internal sea of dynamic, immeasurable chaos resulting in the ultimate simplicity.

I wrote that about the human heart a long time ago. Today, I got the chance to see and hear the sea churning.

I went for an “echo with Doppler” test today at the Trail Hospital. It’s another of the “let’s check this and eliminate another thing” tests I’ve been undergoing since finding out my lipid levels (cholesterol, triglycerides and the like) are roughly equivalent to pure, dark, Swiss chocolate.

Though it sounds impressive, this test doesn’t involve a giant, rotating satellite dish. Instead, it’s a few electrodes, cold gel and an even colder transducer bouncing high-frequency sound waves around your innards. The echoes coming back are magically transformed into moving pictures (!) for a Genuine Smart Person to interpret.

Based on previous experience with electrocardiograms, spinal taps, stress tests, angiograms and sexual encounters, I was expecting something in the range of 10 minutes or so but I was horizontal for about four times that amount of time.

Laying on my side in an elegant, dignified, Roman-statue-esque sort of way, it was easy enough to steal the odd glance at the screen but something deep in my psyche wouldn’t allow me to look at it for very long. Sure, when the tech turned on the sound and the “fffwoooosh, fffwoooosh, fffwoooosh” sound of my circulating blood filled the room, it was hard to resist… but resist I did. Upon review, I think it was likely that I didn’t trust I wouldn’t say, “What’s THAT?” and “Is THAT normal?!” to the sonographer/ultrasound tech. While no one has ever directly accused me of being a hypochondriac, it’s a well-known fact amongst my family and friends there is no love lost between me and medical institutions.

It also occurs to me, being a visual sort of person, a pulsating grey group of heart muscles just isn’t appealing at 7:30 in the morning. But it was more than that. I felt like I was peering behind the curtain, snatching glimpses of my mortality in action. At 45-years-old, I sometimes feel the gravitational weight of time pressing hard and the questions that generates is equally unappealing, at any time.

Scientists estimate about 95 per cent of the universe is made up of matter so minute it’s detectable only by its effect on normal matter. I think it’s the same with the internal sea… most of it, of us, is on a journey far beyond what we can rationalize, much less control. Instead of trying to find answers in minutiae or build fourth-dimensional dykes, it may be better to just surf the waves.

From a trip to Shadd Lake, SK.

From a trip to Shadd Lake, SK.

About Admin

Clients and places where I’ve had photos and writing published include: The Tyee, BC Outdoors Magazine, Currents Magazine, Kamloops Daily News, Kamloops This Week, Smithers Interior News, Okanagan Vacation Guide, Hummingbird Beach Resort, U.S. Horsetrainer.com, Castlegar News, West Kootenay Advertiser and the Pacific Salmon Foundation. I did have a portfolio on iStockphoto.com, a subsidiary of Getty Images and had over 1000 downloads when I decided to go a different direction in selling images. You can find me now at: http://www.viewbug.com/member/MarvBeatty
This entry was posted in Medical, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Internal Sea

  1. nbeatty says:

    Very well written Marv. I don’t realize the test was that long. Sure hope they are able to figure out some answers soon.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

