Really body… really?

The Tempest WEB

Diabetes.

I needed to hear that from my doctor about as much as I needed to hear anything more about Donald Trump. Nonetheless, there it was.

It’s not a death sentence, I know. It’s not even all that high on the list of things you don’t want to hear from a doctor. It’s probably somewhere between dandruff and diarrhea.

But it’s a hassle, y’know?

So, now I’m taking Metformin HCL for a few weeks until I go back for more blood work and see how effective it’s been in the sugar-to-energy dance with insulin. If they decide not to tango, then I may be looking at a higher dose or possibly taking insulin.

In retrospect, this makes a lot of sense; over the past few years my weight has jumped (sure, that can just be middle age but I’ve been trying hard to decrease the amount I eat), cuts and injuries are slow to heal (ditto middle age thing but bear with me), my vision has started to blur (okay, I realize ALL these things happen at middle age but a guy with a medical licence told me today I HAVE diabetes) and I can’t climb any kind of incline without having to stop multiple times. I have a few of the other warning signs, too, but I may not have any obligatory jokes about them. Except for the erectile dysfunction; that’s hilarious all by itself. Good thing no one but me is relying on that organ.

Just when I was getting used to the meds I already take, I’m adding one that is almost guaranteed to cause diarreah and possibly nausea, headaches and other annoyances. Still, it’s another thing to experience I guess and, hey, isn’t life all about experiences?

To the death, Diabetes! You and I shall engage in a battle for the ages! They will sing of us by the light of roaring fires and write epic tomes of our heroics!

Or, I may end up stabbing myself in the gut or ass with a needle a few times a day.

About Admin

Clients and places where I’ve had photos and writing published include: The Tyee, BC Outdoors Magazine, Currents Magazine, Kamloops Daily News, Kamloops This Week, Smithers Interior News, Okanagan Vacation Guide, Hummingbird Beach Resort, U.S. Horsetrainer.com, Castlegar News, West Kootenay Advertiser and the Pacific Salmon Foundation. I did have a portfolio on iStockphoto.com, a subsidiary of Getty Images and had over 1000 downloads when I decided to go a different direction in selling images. You can find me now at: http://www.viewbug.com/member/MarvBeatty
This entry was posted in Medical and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

