The Move – Part Deux

3875645862_37b621cd13_o

My “pending move” has just been given a violent shove into “rapidly-approaching move” and that’s just fine by me.

On Thursday, my landlord (a title that seems far too regal for such a common relationship) gave me two month’s notice to vacate. It’s a connecting suite to the rest of the house and he indicated he plans to convert it back to personal and/or family use.

Fun fact: if that turns out not be true, Sec. 51 (2) of British Columbia’s Residential Tenancy Act (RTA) states:

In addition to the amount payable under subsection (1), (b) if the rental unit is not used for that stated purpose for at least 6 months beginning within a reasonable period after the effective date of the notice, the landlord, or the purchaser, as applicable under section 49, must pay the tenant an amount that is the equivalent of double the monthly rent payable under the tenancy agreement.

So, that’s good information to have.

In any event, I’m not going to let a move bother me because the truth is, I’m feeling liberated by it. I’ve explored this community and the surrounding areas heavily and get it: work, church and kids. It’s no secret that two of those three things I’m diametrically opposed to. The third has been, at various times, rewarding, challenging, exciting, exhausting and sometimes, a clear path to hell.

Actually, all three can probably be described like that. Hopefully, the third thing will come somewhat easier to me in a new location.

In my liberated euphoria, I’ve spent the past three days packing, sorting and tossing out some of my meagre possessions. I’ve also made plans for a road trip next week to scope out possible new digs.

As there’s no immediate rush to sign a lease, it was also nice to discover this in my perusal of the RTA: when the landlord gives notice this way, they are required to provide a month’s rent to the tenant, either on or before the effective date of the end tenancy notice. Alternatively, the tenant can hold back the last month’s rent and a rent-free September would go a long way in making the move less financially taxing.

So, that’s where I’m at. It’s a royal pain in the ass (there’s probably a more accurate landlord-tenant relationship title to be found somewhere in that) to move, what with changing/updating addresses, services, cards, banks, bills and the like but it’s something I consider myself an expert at, at this stage.

With 16 addresses under my belt since 1993, I ‘m not going to sweat the 17th.

About Admin

Clients and places where I’ve had photos and writing published include: The Tyee, BC Outdoors Magazine, Currents Magazine, Kamloops Daily News, Kamloops This Week, Smithers Interior News, Okanagan Vacation Guide, Hummingbird Beach Resort, U.S. Horsetrainer.com, Castlegar News, West Kootenay Advertiser and the Pacific Salmon Foundation. I did have a portfolio on iStockphoto.com, a subsidiary of Getty Images and had over 1000 downloads when I decided to go a different direction in selling images. You can find me now at: http://www.viewbug.com/member/MarvBeatty
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

